Shayri.com  

Go Back   Shayri.com > Stories/Quotes/Anecdotes > General Stories

Old days
Old
  (#1)
roy_27
roy_27 is on a distinguished road

Old days - 9th December 2005, 07:41 PM

Oh! Those old days. After so many years. All these thoughts flashed into my mind as I was going back to my village back to my uncle who raised me when I became an orphan. I had become so busy that I could not visit my village for many years. My uncle was a lawyer by profession but now was retried. He had two children who were now pursing their careers in the city. He was all alone now. He loved me very much even though I was not his child. He took care of me, loved me dearly. He had sent me to the city for studies. And later helped me to get my job. After that I had became so busy that I did not get a chance to visit. Poor fellow must be feeling so lonely.

All throughout he has supported me even when I told him I wanted to become an architect although he wanted me to become a doctor, as I was very good with biology. He also did not object when I told him I wanted to marry a girl of my choice. He even gave me his watch because I didn’t have one. He has always been the same, despite the fact that so much have changed; such a long time has passed.

When I was small he used to give me a box of chocolates and a 5/rs note, always when I used to come first in any competition.
He was a very good telepath also! I need not open my mouth before that he could understand everything. I remember that day, when I went to him hesitating. I wanted a watch, as all of my classmates had one. Also, I would be giving my 12th board this time so I needed it. As I went in his room. He looked from his book he was reading and smiled. I was just going to ask before that he took out his watch and gave it to me and said” I can’t buy you a watch now, can you manage with mine”. I stood there surprised. He never used to give his watch to anyone.